Going full nerd

So, I already dropped a hint on being a bit nerdy with my World of Warcraft reference in my last post, but something I discovered today reminded me of a portion of time in my teenagerdom where I dabbled with Dungeons and Dragons, novels of the like, etc.  I even had the dice collection.  (Dusty might still have them somewhere).  s-l500

Like I said…full….nerd.

Funny part of all that, I didn’t really have anyone to play with, so, it was basically me delving into the books and using them to write stories and such.  (Hmmm, looking back, that’s incredibly sad.  I played Dungeons and Dragons with….myself.)

Today, I discovered an article on polygon.com that discussed how there are a group of video-game voice actors started a live stream of their D&D game.  I am embarrassed to admit that I watched their first episode published back in June….all three hours of it.

http://www.polygon.com/features/2016/1/11/10589378/how-the-voices-behind-your-favorite-games-and-shows-are-re-inventing

I’m not going to lie.  This is UBER-NERD territory, but by god is it hilarious to see these people do this and voice-act their characters.  Nicolette will attest to the fact that I am prone to burst out laughter quite a bit, but I’m telling you that I lost it quite a bit with the give and take between the Dungeon Master (NERD ALERT) and the players.

Part of me is A) jealous of the huge amount of creativity that is present in all of these people and B) jealous that I’m not actually AT that game watching these people all do their thing.  (I don’t feel I could contribute as I’m not THAT funny.

I kind of just lost track of time as I was watching this and ended up treating it like I just watched Lord of the Rings or something.

The striking thing about all of this for me is just the sheer imagination that goes into these people fully realizing their characters to life.  The mannerisms, even the unrelated snarky banter that occurs unrelated to what is happening at the time, just make me chuckle.

All that said, you don’t have to check out the three hours, but the huge battle they get in happens to be towards the last 15 minutes or so, and the true skill of the DM deftly handling all seven players is pretty fun to watch.

 

Author: irunjt

Physical Education teacher. There's really too much to explain in this little box. You'll just have to follow along on the blog. :)

Leave a Reply

