Don’t Choose Fear

I know it has yet again been a while since I’ve posted. There are a million excuses I could give but let’s be honest, I’ve dropped the ball. 

I didn’t think I’d ever post something political on here, but I think I just need to get some thoughts out of my brain before I’m overwhelmed by them. 

Donald Trump is our 45th President. 

::shocked silence::

I didn’t think it could happen. I didn’t think that our nation would ignore the openly hostile, hateful, misogynistic, racist, ignorant, awful things he’s said about people of color, women, those who are LBGTQ+, just about everyone who isn’t a white male….but we did. 

Now what?

Personally, I woke up from awfully fitful sleep, wondering how this happened. I turned everything off at midnight and the alarm went off at 6AM. Disillusioned would be a good word to describe what I’m feeling. I keep saying in my head “is this real life?” like the kid in that wisdom tooth video on YouTube. I’m hoping to avoid the drug-induced rage part. 

What keeps popping into my head though is “I have to find a way to be optimistic.”  Believe me, right now, with wounds so fresh, it seems impossible. 

It’s hard not to think about what might have been if we’d given Bernie Sanders a chance. 

But here’s the thing, one thing I can’t bring myself to do is just give up, retreat into a shell, and adopt the mindset of “well, I guess I’ll just watch the world burn.”  Maybe that does start happening, but if we lose all hope of anything positive then we’re lost as well. 

So I think it’s important for everyone, regardless of who you voted for, to strive to adopt a growth mindset over a fixed one. Instead of feeling like “I give up”, “my way or the highway,” or blaming others for what I perceive to be a mistake, I should instead choose to embrace a challenging situation and figure out a way that I can make it better in the short-term, long-term, small-scale, big-scale. 

In a simple sense, that means I can increase my efforts to make the day of anyone I come into contact with just a little bit more awesome in some way. I’m using this national happening to try and focus on being a better person instead of crying “the end is nigh!”

Maybe that means a tighter hug, a kind word where it’s not expected, recognizing moments of greatness in what most see as monotony and mediocrity…maybe it’s just suspending my realist brain from doing its thing and forcing it to be a little more optimistic than it wants to. We create our own reality in a way, right?  Well, I’m gonna create a kind one…for myself, for others, for all. 

Am I sad this morning?  Scared, even?  Sure. I bet tons of people are. 

To paraphrase Will Smith in the movie After Earth (oddly poignant): “Fear is not real. It is a product of thoughts you create. Fear is a choice.”

Refuse to choose fear. Be positive. Make someone’s day. Make your own day!  Surprise yourself. Together, we can make it better. 

No fear. Never fear.  

Author: irunjt

Physical Education teacher. There's really too much to explain in this little box. You'll just have to follow along on the blog. :)

Leave a Reply

